4/21/2018 Race results and race recap


Benischek sweeps Maquoketa 4 Cylinder twins
Kinsella, Garnhart, Blum, Wroten, Dulin also take checkers

MAQUOKETA, IA (April 21) –
It did not matter where Jake Benischek started. The Durant, Iowa hotshoe sped to the front and won both ends of the season-opening 4 Cylinder Twin 20s Saturday evening at Maquoketa Speedway.
Benischek took the green from P7 in the first 20-lap go, bided his time and took the lead in the Fitzer Farms machine with about 5 laps to go from track champion Brett Marshall. The invert for feature number two did not divert the run to the front. taking the lead for good on lap 16.
Luke Benischek also garnered two top fives and gave team Benischek three top finishes for the weekend, including the night before at CJ Speedway.
Cameron Poci also took a pair of podium finishes.
Benischek, Marshall, Poci, Dillon Embree and Luke were the top five in feature one.
Following Jake in the nighcap were Poci, Luke, Rick Harris and Tim Sibley.
Twenty 4 cylinders were on hand.
Lee Kinsella battled the entire 15-lap Tri State 9:1 Limited Late Model feature with Jamie Pfeiffer. The former finally made the last lap move to take that feature.
Steve Schueller, Jeff Schmidt and John Squires followed.
Bryce Garnhart held off a charging Jeff Larsen to be first to the IMCA Modified checkers.
Veteran Bruce Hanford, Tyler Madigan and Jason Buss completed the top five in the 20 lapper.
An entertaining IMCA SportMod 15-lap feature finished with LeClaire’s Keith Blum first to the stripe as the last of four leaders. Jake Ellithorpe, Brandon Setser, Jerry Miles and Wisconsin pilot Lucas Lamberies were next.
Blum made a late pass and survived numerous cautions to visit Victory Lane.
Leah Wroten made the trip from Independence and showed the guys around the high-banked, 3/8-mile dirt oval with the IMCA Hobby Stock win. “Mrs. Dominator” lived up to her name by beating Daniel Wauters, Kile Vohringer, Randy Byerly and Lane Vohringer.
Terry Dulin held off hard charging Joe Bonney for the Street Stock win. Bub Ahrendsen, Timmy Current and Matt Hudspeth followed.
Action continues on the 3/8-mile, dirt oval this Saturday April 28 with the debut of 2017 champion Matt Ryan and the IMCA Late Models. IMCA Modifieds, IMCA SportMods, IMCA Hobby Stocks, Street Stocks and 4 Cylinders also are back in action joined by the Mod Lites.
Gates open at 4:30. Hot laps are 6:15.
For more information, log on to maqspeedway.com, the track Facebook page or call 563-940-7841.

Following are results from stock car racing Saturday evening at Maquoketa Speedway.
4 Cylinders
1st Feature (20 laps) – 1. 3 Jake Benischek 2. 3M Brett Marshall 3. C22 Cameron Poci 4. 3E Dillon Embree 5. 5 Luke Benischek 6. F79 Dustin Forbes 7. 32 Kyle Rhoads 8. 7X Rob Harding, Jr. 9. 125T Tim Sibley 10. 7 Rob Harding, Sr. 11. 125 Rick Harris 12. 45M Brian Marshall 13. 12J Shawn Kraft 14. 514 Jason Rhoads 15. 21X Shaun McDermott 16. 07 Dan Dillin 17. 33 Cody Brewster 18. 21 Andy Wagener (Did Not Start – W1 John Campbell, 12 Mitch Bielenberg)
2nd Feature (20 laps) – 1. J. Benischek 2. Poci 3. L. Benischek 4. Harris 5. Sibley 6. Harding, Jr. 7. Farber 8. Embree 9. K. Rhoads 10. J. Rhoads 11. Brett Marshall 12. Harding, Sr. 13. Krarft (Did Not Start – Brewster, Dillin, Bielenberg, Campbell, Brian Marshall, Wagener, McDermott)
IMCA Modifieds
Feature (20 laps) – 1. 3G Bryce Garnhart 2. B1 Jeff Larsen 3. 61 Bruce Hanford 4. 21M Tyler Madigan 5. 32J Jason Buss 6. 19B Austin Blume 7. 88 Jaden Fryer 8. 73M Matt Irwin 9. 11 Ray Cox, Jr. 10. 01J Jeremy Campbell 11. 1H Mike Hirst 12. 22H Jordan Hicks 13. 14D Dustin Morden 14. 53 Matt Stein
IMCA SportMods
Feature (15 laps) – 1. 21 Keith Blum 2. 72 Jake Ellithorpe 3. 77x Brandon Setser 4. 4 Jerry Miles 5. 0L Lucas Lamberies 6. 33 Jaret Franzen
7. 35X Chance Huston 8. 88X Duane Roth 9. 3 Troy Wages 10. 28 Bobby Taggart 11. 71 John Brandies 12. 55C Jacob Copley 13. 27X Barrett Crock 14. 35 Justin Becker 15. 9X Mike Adams 16. 0 Brandt Cole 17. 44 Joe Grant 18. 9 Scott Williams 19.R2 Ryan Reed 20. 11A Andy Hunter (Did Not Start – W30 Tim Wade)
IMCA Hobby Stocks
Feature (15 laps) – 1. 14C Leah Wroten 2. 09 Daniel Wauters 3. 01 Kile Vohringer 4. 58B Randy Byerly 5. M1 Lane Vohringer 6. 28 Bobby Taggart 7. 60 Dakota Simonsen 8. 38 Brandon White
Street Stocks
Feature (12 laps) – 1. 3T Terry Dulin 2. 70 Joe Bonney 3. 6X Bub Ahrendsen 4. 2T Timmy Current 5. 3W Matt Hudspeth 6. 14 Mike McGarry 7. 5B Tim Bader 8. 8L Lucas Short
Tri State 9:1 Limited Late Models
Feature (15 laps) 1. 21K Lee Kinslla 2. 56 Jamie Pfeiffer 3. 17S Steve Schueller 4. 19 Jeff Schmidt 5. 15 John Squires 6. 1M Mitch Maternachour paragraph here. your paragraph here.