7/21/2018 Race results / race recap


 Freiburger celebrates birthday with Maquoketa Speedway win

Hurst, Soppe, Current, Wauters, Wagener also get to victory lane


(Story follows below)


Following are results from stock car racing Saturday evening at Maquoketa Speedway.

Andover Meat IMCA Late Models

Feature (25 laps) – 1. 58 Jeremiah Hurst 2. 07 Matt Ryan 3. 7 Andy Nezworski 4. 6D Doug Nigh 5. 48Z Jon Poll 6. 14 B.J. Jackson 7. 8M Marty Scheckel 8. 91 Mike Guldenpfennig 9. Z50 Joe Zrostlik 10. D44 Luke Goedert 11. 12 Don Pataska 12. 35 Eric Sanders (Did Not Start – 28C Terry Neal) (Disqualified – 10T Jeff Tharp, 19 Kelly Pestka)

1st Heat (10 laps) – 1. Guldenpfennig 2. Zrostlik 3. Nezworski 4. Hurst

2nd Heat (10 laps) – 1. Nigh 2. Poll 3. Jackson 4. Ryan

QCJeeps.com IMCA Modifieds

Feature (20 laps) – 1. 6 Jed Freiburger 2. 3G Bryce Garnhart 3. 60F Timmy Current 4. 53 Matt Stein 5. 19B Austin Blume 6. 7M Matt Short 7. 21M Tyler Madigan 8. 11 Ray Cox, Jr. 9. 11BC Ben Carpenter 10. 2G Matt Gansen 11. 31A Kory Meyer 12. 56 Dustin Kroening 13, 8S Josh Starr 14. 01J Jeremy Campbell 15. 89 Tom Pestka 16. 25 Jake Bowman 17. 1H Mike Hirst 18. 77J Steve Johnson (Did Not Start – 140 Nathan Hall)


1st Heat (8 laps) – 1. Bowman 2. Hirst 3. Blume 4. Short

2nd Heat (8 laps) – 1. Current 2. Freiburger 3. Johnson 4. Pestka

3rd Heat (8 laps) – 1. Garnhart 2. Gansen 3. Stein 4. Meyer

B&D Pit Stop IMCA SportMods

Feature (15 laps) – 1. 3T Tyler Soppe 2. 12N Gage Neal 3. 4M Jerry Miles 4. 10A Jacob Arp 5. 75 Bob Silaggi 6. 20S Brandon Schmidt 7. 86 Jake Morris 8. B4 Brandt Cole 9. 44 Joe Grant 10. 44N Max Nimrick 11. 36N Joe Nemitz 12. 80 Richard Nelson 13. 74 Doug Burkhead 14. 39R Rance Powell 15. F79 Dustin Forbes 16. 71J Justin Schroeder 17. 27X Barrett Crock 18. 17F Richard Yerian 19. 72 Jake Ellithorpe 20. 6M Jake Murphy 21. 33 Jarrett Franzen 22. B33 Cody Calam 23. 88X Duane Roth 23. W30 Tim Wade

1st Heat (6 laps) – 1. Neal 2. Murphy 3. Ellithorpe 4. Calam

2nd Heat (6 laps) – 1. Miles 2. Silaggi 3. Powell 4. Nimrick

3rd Heat (6 laps) – 1. Franzen 2. Nelson 3. Cole 4. Nimitz

4th Heat (6 laps) – 1. Soppe 2. Morris 3. Arp 4. Schmidt

Ueland Auto IMCA Stock Cars

Feature (15 laps) – 1. 2T Timmy Current 2. 32 Tom Cannon 3. 31 Donnie Louck 4. 83 Jimmy Comins 5. 14 Mike McGarry 6. 5B Tim Bader 7. 28 Greg Gill 8. 27Z Chase Zaruba

1st Heat (6 laps) – 1.Gill 2. Current 3. Cannon 4. Louck

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Feature (12 laps) – 1. 09 Daniel Wauters 2. 31 Adam Ayers 3. 58B Randy Byerly 4. 01 Kile Vohringer 5. 60 Dakota Simonsen 6. 11S Shane Oberbreckling 7. 45 Justin Wacha 8. 17F Nick Foster 9. 28 Bobby Taggart 10. 20CK Justin Ginther 11. 3B Brandon White 12. 92 Brandon Schneider 13. M1 Lane Vohringer 14. 72X Gene Potter 15. 59 Roger Winkers

1st Heat (6 laps) – 1. Ginther 2. Byerly 3. L. Vohringer 4. Simonsen

2nd Heat (6 laps) – 1. Taggart 2. Wauters 3. Foster 4. Schneider

Obie’s Bar and Restaurant/B&C Liquors 4 Cylinders

Feature (12 laps) – 1. 21 Andy Wagener 2. 3M Brett Marshall 3. 33X Bobby Taggart 4. 11H Justin Hempstead 5. 3E Dillon Embree 6. 15 John Campbell 7. 56 Joe LaFrenz 8. 45 Rick Hempstead 9. 125T Tim Sibley 10. 14J Nick Proehl 11. Z50 Joe Zrostlik 12. 53 D.J. Fuller 13. 7X Rob Harding, Jr. 14. 18B Brandon Buech 15. T78 Tyler Shady (Did Not Start – 8M Tim Maiki, 1X Speedy Vasquez)

1st Heat (4 laps) – 1. Wagener 2. Campbell 3. Sibley 4. Fuller

2nd Heat (4 laps) – 1. J. Hempstead 2. Marshall 3. Shady 4. R. Hempstead




MAQUOKETA, Iowa (July 21) – The smile lit up a dark infield. The cheer of his fan base could be heard over the race cars on the cool down lap.

 Saturday evening was quite a birthday celebration for Jed Freiburger. The Dubuque ace turned 35 and turned it into a QCJeeps.com IMCA Modified 20-lap feature win at Maquoketa Speedway.

 “This is a great way to celebrate it,” Freiburger said. “(Crew chief) Ron Barker made all the right calls and changes so it worked out well.”

 Freiburger started 10th and quickly raced to the top five. Following a couple early restarts and leader Jake Bowman retiring, the Merfeld Brothers Automotive/Chad Ellis Construction/McDonald Supply Rage chassis blew up to second behind Timmy Current at the halfway point, then made the pass.

 The lead stretched, evaporated due to a late caution, but reopened as he cruised to the win. Freiburger shook off noticeable noises from the car.

 “I think it was just rocks or clods hitting the car. It was rough out there after the rain, but had plenty of car.”

 Current point runner up Bryce Garnhart started a row behind Freiburger and chased up to second ahead of Current, Matt Stein and Austin Blume.

 Point leader Jeremiah Hurst waited out a wild Andover Meat IMCA Late Model 25-lap feature and went home with the W.

 Hurst was the third leader and raced away from Matt Ryan, Andy Nezworski, Doug Nigh and Jon Poll.

 Mike Guldenpfennig cruised to a heat win and opened up an early big lead. However, he was caught up in a tangle following a restart and later retired.

 The top two in the B&D Pit Stop IMCA SportMods finished just that way, only in reverse order. Tyler Soppe made up for a bad run last week and checked out to victory lane in the 15-lapper. Point leader Gage Neal worked the traffic and made it up to second at the checkers, followed by last week’s winner Jerry Miles, Jacob Arp and Bob Silaggi.

 Timmy Current made it two straight in the Ueland Auto IMCA Stock Cars. Tom Cannon stayed straight in a wild 15-lap main to take second. Donnie Louck, Jimmy Comins and Mike McGarry rounded out the top five.

 Multi-time winner Greg Gill sped from the back twice, but finally had to go pitside late with a flat tire.

 Daniel Wauters captured another IMCA Hobby Stock 12-lap feature, beating visitor Adam Ayers, point leader Randy Byerly, Kile Vohringer and Dakota Simonsen.

 Andy Wagener took his second 12-lap Obie’s Bar and Restaurant/B&C Liquors 4 Cylinder finale of the season. Point leader Brett Marshall, Bobby Taggart, Justin Hempstead and Dillon Embree followed. Taggart and Embree borrowed cars for the event.

 Rain fell midway through the heat races and lasted about 15 minutes. Race teams then helped re-work the surface and racing continued on the quarter-mile, high banked dirt oval.

 The third time was the charm for the Powder Puff events after being postponed twice as the race went green to checker.

 Another great total of 100 race teams jammed the pits and the final checkered flag fell just after 10:30 p.m. even with the rain delay.

 Action continues this Thursday July 26 with the annual Jackson County Fair Championship races brought to the track by Roeder Brothers, Inc.,Kunau Implement and Wyffels Hybrids. Racing takes place in all regular classes – Andover Meat IMCA Late Models, QCJeeps.com IMCA Modifieds, B&D Pit Stop IMCA SportMods, Ueland Auto IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Hobby Stocks and Obie’s Bar and Restaurant/B&D Liquors 4 Cylinders.

 Then the speedplant will take a couple Saturdays off, returning Aug. 11.

 Gates open Thursday at 4:30 p.m. Hot laps are 6:15 with racing to follow. For more information, log on to maqspeedway.com, the track Facebook page or call 563-940-7841.