7/7/2018 Race results / race recap


Meyer goes flag to flag at Maquoketa Speedway
Pestka, Soppe, Gill, Wroten, Marshall also pick up checkers

MAQUOKETA, Iowa (July 7) – The brakes were applied in the turn, rear part of the car kicked slightly to the right and then Kory Meyer was back on the gas.
The Olin, Iowa ace did that to perfection Saturday evening at Maquoketa Speedway during Kids Night, racing to a good advantage and hanging on in lapped traffic to win the 20-lap QCJeeps.com IMCA Modified feature.
“I was hoping they weren’t going to be able to get around me,” Meyer said. “I was sticking to the bottom and let the race run out.”
Meyer took Doug Haack’s green flag from the pole and led every circuit despite the 3/8-mile, dirt oval blackened surface not the ideal track for his S and J Motorsports/JR’s Place MastersBilt.
“It slows everything down a bit and we’ve struggled with our car on that. It’s been better when there’s traction, but we got it figured out tonight.”
Nathan Hall was looking for his second win in two nights and held the runner up spot most of the race. Justin Kay weaved through traffic and dispensed of Hall late in the going. Both were closing on Meyer near the end when lapped cars became prevalent.
“I was just hoping they were going to slide up and I could get them on the bottom,” Meyer added. “I felt like I was going good and I didn’t hear anyone, but I knew they were coming.”
Travis Denning and Matt Stein rounded out the top five.
Kelly Pestka was just as dominant in the Andover Meat IMCA Late Model 25-lap finale. He paced every lap en route to a several car length win over Doug Nigh. Joe Ross, Jeremiah Hurst and Eric Sanders.
Tyler Soppe and Gage Neal have an epic track points battle going in the B&D Pit Stop IMCA SportMods. Both held the top spot in the 15-lap feature. Soppe swung to the high side and then around Neal about halfway through and held on for his third straight checkered flag.
Justin Veloz, Jerry Miles and Jacob Copley were next.
Soppe and Neal are now tied atop the point standings. It was Neal’s fifth runner up finish.
Greg Gill took his second Ueland Auto IMCA Stock Car victory of the season, beating Kay, who was doing double duty in the No. 2 car usually driven by Timmy Current. Jimmy Comins, Tim Schneider and Tim Bader followed.
Leah Wroten is two for two at Maquoketa in 2018. She won the season opener in April and slid past a handful of IMCA Hobby Stock regulars to win her second 12-lapper. The Independence, Iowa hotshoe took advantage of her home track’s night off to visit.
She beat Dakota Simonsen, Randy Byerly, Shane Oberbreckling and Kile Vohringer for her seventh win and 28th top three of the year.
Brett Marshall started another Obie’s Restaurant and Bar/B&C Liquor 4 Cylinder win streak with the 12-lap victory. He had a three-race streak earlier in the season. The point leader beat Tyler Shady, Rob Harding, Jr., Lucas Short and Joe LaFrenz.
A total of 100 race teams jammed the pits. Racing was completed around 9:30 p.m. just in time for the City of Maquoketa annual fireworks display.
Action continues this Saturday July 14. Racing takes place in all regular classes –
Andover Meat IMCA Late Models, QCJeeps.com IMCA Modifieds, B&D Pit Stop IMCA SportMods, Ueland Auto IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Hobby Stocks and Obie’s Bar and Restaurant/B&D Liquors 4 Cylinders. Also, the Junkies return and the ladies go at it in the Powder Puff races.
Gates open Saturday at 4:30 p.m. Hot laps are 6:15 with racing to follow.
For more information, log on to maqspeedway.com, the track Facebook page or call 563-940-7841.

Following are results from stock car racing Saturday evening at Maquoketa Speedway.
Andover Meat IMCA Late Models
Feature (25 laps) – 1. 19 Kelly Pestka 2. 6D Doug Nigh 3. R19 Joe Ross 4. 58 Jeremiah Hurst 5. 35 Eric Sanders 6. 07 Matt Ryan 7. 7 Andy Nezworski 8. Z50 Joe Zrostlik 9. 10 Keith Feller 10. 17 Tim Simpson 11. 23 Tod VanTassel 12. 12 Don Pataska 13. 51JR Johnny Walker, Jr. 14. 10T Jeff Tharp 15. P7 Eric Pollard 16. 05 Mike Hynes (Did Not Start – 8M Marty Scheckel).
1st Heat (10 laps) – 1. Ryan 2. Sanders 3. Hurst 4. Feller
2nd Heat (10 laps) – 1. Pestka 2. Nigh 3. Zrostlik 4. Ross
QCJeeps.com IMCA Modifieds
Feature (20 laps) – 1. 31A Kory Meyer 2. 15K Justin Kay 3. 140 Nathan Hall 4. 56D Travis Denning 5. 53 Matt Stein 6. 89 Tom Pestka 7. 19B Austin Blume 8. 15 Sean Rupp 9. 21M Tyler Madigan 10. 77J Steve Johnson 11. 70 Mitch Morris 12. 11 Ray Cox, Jr. 13. 20L Zach Less 14. 8S Josh Starr 15. 1H Mike Hirst 16. 9 Derek Wilson 17. 70X Joe Bonney 18. 88 Jaden Fryer 19. 1K Keith Haislip 20. 73M Matt Irwin 21. 25 Jake Bowman 22. 3G Bryce Garnhart (Did Not Start – 88T Tony Vondresky).
1st Heat (8 laps) – 1. Stein 2. Cox 3. Kay 4. Bonney
2nd Heat (8 laps) – 1. Hall 2. Bowman 3. Hirst 4. Haislip
3rd Heat (8 laps) – 1. Meyer 2. Denning 3. Morris 4. Blume
4th Heat (8 laps) – 1. Garnhart 2. Pestka 3. Less 4. Irwin
B&D Pit Stop IMCA SportMods
Feature (15 laps) – 1. 3T Tyler Soppe 2. 12N Gage Neal 3. 43JV Justin Veloz 4. 4 Jerry Miles 5. 55C Jacob Copley 6. 44 Joe Grant 7. 17C Shane Paris 8. B4 Brandt Cole 9. 72 Jake Ellithorpe 10. 77 Mitch Current 11. W30 Tim Wade 12. 43LV Logan Veloz 13. 27X Barrett Crock 14. 71J Justin Schroeder 15. 86 Jake Morris 16. 17S Terry Stevens 17. 39R Rance Powell 18. 57 Brandon Loos
1st Heat (6 laps) – 1. Ellithorpe 2. Soppe 3. Powell 4. Crock
2nd Heat (6 laps) – 1. Morris 2. Neal 3. Current 4. Copley
3rd Heat (6 laps) – 1. Miles 2. Grant 3. J. Veloz 4. Wade
Ueland Auto IMCA Stock Cars
Feature (15 laps) – 1. 28 Greg Gill 2. 2 Justin Kay 3. 83 Jimmy Comins 4. 77 Tim Schneider 5. 5B Tim Bader 6. 31 Donnie Louck 7. 49 Ian Huff 8. 27Z Chase Zaruba 9. 26 Jeremy Clement (Did Not Start – 14 Mike McGarry).
1st Heat (6 laps) – 1. Gill 2. Kay 3. Louck 4. Comins
IMCA Hobby Stocks
Feature (12 laps) – 1. 14 Leah Wroten 2. 60 Dakota Simonsen 3. 58B Randy Byerly 4. 11S Shane Oberbreckling 5. 01 Kile Vohringer 6. 56 Jamie Coady 7. 09 Daniel Wauters 8. 28 Bobby Taggart 9. 3T Tonia Stevens 10. M1 Lane Vohringer 11. 92 Brandon Schneider 12. 3B Brandon White 13. 59 Roger Winkers 14. 72X Gene Potter
1st Heat (6 laps) – 1. Taggart 2. Wauters 3. Oberbreckling 4. Byerly
2nd Heat (6 laps) – 1. L. Vohringer 2. K. Vohringer 3. Wroten 4. Simonsen
Obie’s Bar and Restaurant/B&D Liquors 4 Cylinders
Feature (12 laps) – 1. 3M Brett Marshall 2. T78 Tyler Shady 3. 7X Rob Harding, Jr. 4. 8 Lucas Short 5. 56 Joe LaFrenz 6. 21X Shaun McDermott 7. 3E Dillon Embree 8. 18B Brandon Buech 9. 125T Tim Sibley 10. 24 Korey Lana 11. 257 Todd Hines 12. 7T Mike Behnke 13. 14J Nick Proehl 14. 45 Rick Hempstead 15. 33 Cody Brewster 16. 11H Justin Hempstead 17. 21 Andy Wagener (Did Not Start – 47 Thomas Adams).
1st Heat (4 laps) – 1. Marshall 2. LaFrenz 3. Shady 4. Short
2nd Heat (4 laps) – 1. J. Hempstead 2. Buech 3. Embree 4. Sibley